Early Years Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage is the period of education from birth to five years.

The EYFS Framework

This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's suitable for very young children, and it's designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.


The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first.

These are:

•Communication and Language;

•Physical Development; and

•Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas.

These are

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities.


The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs.


For more information please visit http://www.foundationyears.org.uk/parents/

Contact the School

Lyme Community Primary

Lyme Street
WA12 9HD
Office Manager: Sandra Marshall

Tel: 01744 678350